The Fight for Liberty, Without Guns

Since this blog is titled “Dating and Discovery”, it could be expected that this particular blog post be about being liberated from a relationship. Now, even if that were true for me, I’m sorry to disappoint you if that’s what you were hoping this post was about. This post is about a discovery, a recent article I stumbled across – when I say stumble, I mean specifically a friend shared it on Facebook, and the “stumbling” part happened to be that it was an article that summarizes what the core of my book SERAPHYNX is.

ANYWHO, I definitely recommend the article, entitled “Smart Mormons” as a  “must read”.  If you’re a Mormon curious about what other people think about you and your beliefs, someone who is curious about what Mormons are or what we believe, or, are curious about what SERAPHYNX is about, then this article will help satiate that curiosity  If that doesn’t entice you, there’s also talk of politics including Obama and Romney, and everyone either hates or loves them, right? 🙂 It never ceases to amaze me to see and hear what other people THINK I believe, so  it’s refreshing and relieving when I see something published that’s actually promotes truth and awareness.The blurb I found most interesting and pertains closest to what SERAPHYNX is about is as follows:

“For Mormons, the greatest of all battles, the war in heaven, was fought over LIBERTY—or as they call it, “free agency.”  Lucifer wanted to take it away, while God demanded that humans have it.

Although a Mormon might balk at my making comparisons between their religious beliefs and modern politics (and as I said earlier, every Mormon I’ve ever known was a very good person, so I apologize to any I offend), I see a direct correlation here.  For a Mormon, the battle for liberty is not unique to this life; it is the core battle of the ages.  Lucifer lost the war in heaven (he really thought he could beat God?), but the war continues on earth.  So seeing the government become more and more tyrannical is not just a political concern; it’s a fundamental, eternal concern.

I’m inspired by this Mormon theological idea: God intended for humans to be free to make our own choices and live with the consequences of those choices.  The Founding Fathers of this country said essentially the same thing in the Declaration of Independence:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

***Credit for above quoted section to Mike Jensen.

To tie in with this, I typed up a new pitch here to better describe the core moral battle at work in the book. It’s a book about the fight against tyranny, oppression, temptation, and fight for liberty, freedom of choice, love, happiness. If those things aren’t considered to be worth fighting for, regardless of someone’s religion, than IMHO it’s not American. I’m proud to be an American, a Mormon, and a fighter all that’s good in this world. I hope it will not have to come down to guns and weapons, but if it does, my hope is that we will be FREE to choose to do so, In the meantime, I hope my readers will fight alongside my characters, and in their own hearts, for what’s right. 🙂

***Photo copyright and credit to Josh Keele and Emily WilsonImage

3 thoughts on “The Fight for Liberty, Without Guns

  1. Let’s talk about people control. In the last few massacres, deranged people purchased weapons legally to do what they did. If the goal is to stop massacres by deranged people, what are some ways to do that?
    This is a national problem. No sane individual believes it is OK to kill innocent children and adults at an elementary school. What can we do to stop it?

    • Excellent point and question! While I’m not claiming to know the answer, I believe one thing that would help is parent involvement from a young age and staying consistent through their children’s lives. As a high school teacher I see so many problems and solutions that could happen if the parents were teaching their children the right way and showing unconditional love.

  2. Those customers were genuinely rude and disrespectful, anyone would
    agree with you. Or you have a bad day which means you end up eating
    chips, donuts and chocolate while watching a film and all the time your self esteem drops lower and
    lower, in fact if it went any lower it was hit the opposite side of
    the world. His self hypnosis MP3 download ‘Letting Go of the Past’
    is now available.

Leave a Reply

