New Year, New Young Adult Fiction Book: Seraphynx

Well, it finally happened. Fourteen years after a pen touched my first page and started writing books my book has been published. You can check it out here. If you click the “Click to Look Inside!”, you’ll get a nice little preview of the book – the whole first chapter and part of the second too! If you don’t have a Kindle, I’ll have it available in 90 days on a bunch of other sites, but I chose to go with Amazon first so you could read it for free 🙂 The free promo days are January 10th and 11th, so far. I’ll update this with the new dates as they come along.

If you have an Iphone, you can download the Amazon app and the Amazon Kindle app and get the book that way. You can also go to Amazon.com, but either way it’ll walk you through how to get the book. Or feel free to comment or get a hold of me and I can walk you through it too!

Seraphynx is ultimately a story about choice. It’s about the struggle that is had when a decision isn’t easy, or when you don’t know what the outcome will be. It’s about mustering the courage to do the right thing even if it hurts. The characters face a lot of moral dilemmas that many of us face. The main character, Evie, goes on a typical hero’s quest that tests her physical and emotional strength and helps her discover who she is, what she wants, and what her future could hold.

It’s also a story about facing and defeating demons, and not just physical beings, the inward demons that can plague us.  Although the main character is a girl, there are plenty of guy characters and lots of action! Another reader, who is a movie director, reader the first few pages and made me promise him I’d let him direct the movie when my book went viral. I’m an avid movie watcher, and when I write, I see it play out in my mind like a movie, so it was important for me for my readers to be able to imagine it as well.

I’ve been making my way through what one author coined “the decade of decisions” and man, is it tough! I personally really stink at making decisions, especially if I have to, or if I have to make a choice quickly. When going through this decade of decisions we discover who we are, what our demons are, and we battle to overcome them and to turn out to be an ok person. I hope that my readers can relate and gain some strength when they read this book. One reader described the story as a Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings mixed with Avenger type superpowers with a Twilight love story. Minus the Twilight part I was pretty flattered, as I love all of those stories! Anyway, I hope you all enjoy your escape!

Leave a Reply

